Girl With A Coin

New Damien Jurado Album!
June 26, 2008, 6:54 pm
Filed under: albums, music | Tags: , , , , ,

Damien Jurado’s new LP “Caught In The Trees”, is due out September 9th (same date as new Calexico LP, how kind will that day be on my ears!!!)

Here’s the track listing:

1. Gillian Was A Horse
2. Trials
3. Caskets
4. Coats Of Ice
5. Go First
6. Sorry Is For You
7. Last Rights
8. Dimes
9. Everything Trying
10. Sheets
11. Paper Kite
12. Best Dress
13. Predictive Living

Damien Jurado on Myspace.

MP3 – Damien Jurado – Gillian Was A Horse

MP3 – Damien Jurado – Gillian Was A Horse (radio edit)


The Shins to self-release new album!
June 24, 2008, 11:56 am
Filed under: albums, music, websites | Tags: , , , , , ,

After releasing three albums through Subpop, The Shins are to put out their 4th LP on their own.

“The deal will be more of a [pressing and distribution] deal than a traditional record deal,” Shins manager Ian Montone told Billboard. “That partner could very well remain Sub Pop, who have done a remarkable job with the band and have a great staff of people who really love music. It could be a digital partner with respect to other rights. All of this is being determined. The first goal is to make the record and see where that takes us”.

Check out The Shins on Myspace.

MP3 – The Shins – Phantom Limb



Kings of Leon Reveal New Album Details
June 24, 2008, 10:59 am
Filed under: albums, music | Tags: , , ,

Kings of Leon are to release a new LP. “Only By The Night” is out in the UK 22nd September, and is the band’s fourth studio album.

Find out more from NME

Check out King of Leon on Myspace.

Kings of Leon – Ragoo

Chemical Brothers To Release Another Greatest hits LP
June 24, 2008, 10:21 am
Filed under: albums, music | Tags: , , ,

The Chemical Brothers will be releasing another greatest hits record titled “Brotherhood” on 2nd September.

Track list:


1 – Galvanize
2 – Hey Boy Hey Girl
3 – Block Rockin’ Beats
4 – Do It Again
5 – Believe
6 – Star Guitar
7 – Let Forever Be
8 – Leave Home
9 – Keep My Composure
10 – Saturate
11 – Out Of Control
12 – The Golden Path
13 – Setting Sun
14 – Chemical Beats

1-10 – Electronic Battle Weapons

Check out The Chemical Brothers on Myspace.

New Calexico LP (And Tour)
June 13, 2008, 2:35 am
Filed under: albums, music | Tags: , , , , , , , , ,


Calexico’s new LP, “Carried to Dust”, is due out September 9th and of course, there’s a tour, so they can show off some of their 15 brand spanking new songs. Woop woop. Apparently, the album contains collaborations with Sam Beam, Douglas McCombs, and Pieta Brown. I’m looking forward to it.

Here’s the track listing:

1. Victor Jara’s Hands
2. Two Silver Trees
3. The News About William
4. Sarabande in Pencil Form
5. Writer’s Minor Holiday
6. Man Made Lake
7. Inspiración
8. House of Valparaiso
9. Slowness
10. Bend to the Road
11. El Gatillo (Trigger Revisited)
12. Fractured Air (Tornado Watch)
13. Falling From Sleeves
14. Red Blooms
15. Contention City

I could list the rest of the tour dates, but instead, I’ll just say I’ll be going 11th September @ Queens Hall, Edinburgh. But the rest of you Calexico fans can get the tour dates and listen to them here…

You can listen here.

Official Calexico Site.


In other Calexico news, a few weeks ago their track “Crystal Frontier”  WENT INTO SPACE! That’s right. On 31st May, the Space Shuttle Discovery went upwwards towards the International Space station. During shuttle flights, the friends and family of the astronauts are allowed to choose the music that is played to wake the astronauts up from sleep. Commander Mark Kelly’s wife, Gabrielle Gifford, a U.S. Congresswoman from Calexico’s native Arizona, chose Calexico’s “Crystal Frontier”. It’ll be beamed up into space, on 13th June, one day before landing. How frigging exciting! Well, at least I think it is. I’m sure Calexico do too! It gives Aerocelexico to brand new meaning, one may even say it has taken the album name to new heights. Har har. 

Because of this, Calexico have decided to give away a free MP3 of “Crystal Fronteir”. How very kind, huh.

Clicky the linky and checky it out…y.

Mogwai Finalize Track Listing For New LP
June 12, 2008, 4:31 pm
Filed under: music | Tags: , , , ,

Woop woop! Mogwai’s new LP, “The Hawk Is Howling” is out this September. Excited much?

Here’s the track listing:

1. I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead
2. Batcat
3. Daphne & The Brain
4. Local Authority
5. The Sun Smells Too Loud
6. Kings Meadow
7. I Love You, I’m Going To Blow Up Your School
8. Scotland’s Shame
9. Thank You Space Expert
10. The Precipice

They’ll also be playing a few gigs… 

October 21 – Corn Exchange, Edinburgh
October 22 – Manchester Academy, Manchester
October 24 – Hammersmith Apollo, London 

You can listen to Mogwai here.

Official Mogwai Site.